About Colombia


Official Name: Republica de Colombia

Capital City: Bogotá formerly Santa Fe de Bogotá, (pop. about 9 million)

Other Cities: Medellín, Cali, Barranquilla, Cartagena, Santa Marta, La Guajira



Location: Northern South America, bordering the Caribbean Sea, between Panama and Venezuela, and bordering the North Pacific Ocean, between Ecuador and Panama

Area: 1.134 million km² (440,000 sq. mi.), fourth-largest country in South America.

Terrain: Flat coastal areas, with extensive coastlines on the Pacific Ocean and Caribbean Sea, three rugged parallel mountain chains, central highlands, and flat eastern grasslands

Climate: Tropical on coast and eastern plains, cooler in highlands



Nationality: Colombian

Population: 46.5 million (2012)

Ethnic groups: Mestizo 58%, white 20%, mulatto 14%, black 4%, mixed black-Amerindian 3%, Amerindian 1%

Religion: Roman Catholic 90%

Language: Spanish


Agriculture & Industry

Natural resources: Coal, petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, nickel, gold, silver, copper, platinum, emeralds

Agriculture products: Coffee, cut flowers, bananas, rice, tobacco, corn, sugarcane, cocoa beans, oilseed, vegetables, forest products, shrimp

Industries: Textiles, food processing, oil, clothing and footwear, beverages, chemicals, cement, gold, coal, emeralds


Click to view a map of Colombia or South America.